are you my moms?

the musings of yet another lesbian couple on the journey of mother(s)hood

Introducing Rigby August 21, 2012

Filed under: Rigby — areyoumymoms @ 11:36 pm
Tags: , , ,

With apologies for the delay, I am thrilled to introduce you all to our son, Rigby.   He was born Tuesday August 14th at 7:21pm, weiging in at 7lbs, 15 oz.

There are not words enough to describe the love that filled our hearts as soon as we saw him.  So for now I’ll just focus on the details of his arrival.

I checked into the hospital Monday evening, with MKL by my side, to have my cervix softened.  Cramping started through the night, but thanks to the angel nurse who gave me an ambien, I actually got 3 hours of sleep.  At 6:00 the next morning that same angel came in to start pitocin, a drug designed to kickstart uterine contractions.  It works, by the way.  Contractions were under way within 30 minutes of the initial dose.  I’d read that pitocin can make labor more intense, and even my doctor confirmed as much at our last appointment.  But given that I had never been through it before I figured what I didn’t know wouldn’t affect me.  I had planned to attempt labor without the aid of pain meds or an epidural, at least as far as I could make it.  After 8 hours, I finally gave in and asked politely for a needle in my back (well, that’s how I choose to remember it…in reality I believe I screamed something like, “tell Doc to cut me open or give me an epidural – NOW!!!”).  At the time that I got the epidural I was still only dilated 2 cm.  I repeat…2 cm.  That’s only 1 cm more than my first cervical check several weeks prior.  Both the doctor and I thought we were headed for a c-section.  However, pain control is a magical thing.  Apparently that delicious catheter in my back was just what I needed to calm down and let my body do what it was supposed to all along.  I took a brief nap, and when I woke up I was at 8 cm.  Next thing I knew I was at 10 and it was time to push.  30 minutes later, he was out and our lives changed forever.  What took months upon years to create took only 13 hours to bring into the world.

I’ll continue to update with more info about our beautiful boy as we sink into a routine and I find time to get to the computer.  But suffice it to say for now that we are absolutely head over heels in love.

 

5 Responses to “Introducing Rigby”

  1. Fabulous Mommy Says:

    Wow! What a beautiful birth story. Congrats you too or should I say you three. Rigby is too cute for words. What a sweet little thing.

    Enjoy being moms. It just gets better and better.

    Like

  2. Mrs P Says:

    Massive congratulations on your gorgeous little boy!!!!!

    Like

  3. He is beautiful! Congrats!

    Like

  4. Gwen LeMaire Says:

    He is just gorgeous!

    Like

  5. hirsandhers Says:

    He has so much hair! So cute!

    Like


Leave a Reply

