are you my moms?

the musings of yet another lesbian couple on the journey of mother(s)hood

To Test or Not to Test October 31, 2011

Filed under: Two-week wait — areyoumymoms @ 11:09 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I left my blood at the lab this morning, along with a positive thought and a few ounces of my dwindling patience.  Tomorrow we’ll find out if this 3rd attempt is the one.  […heavy sigh…]  We have always said we’d resist the temptation of taking a home pregnancy test, and would just wait for the guru to call with the official results.  At the end of a long 2 weeks, what’s another 24 hours?  A few people have advised recently that they used home pregnancy tests before taking their blood test.  Apparently everyone’s home and lab results have always matched up.  So then we’re left with 2 questions: Do we want to be the people whose home pregnancy test is positive, but are devastated by the reversal call in the morning?  And in reality, are we ready to know yet?  The luxury of the two week wait is that I might be pregnant the whole time.  It’s our only experience that the two week wait ends in disappointment, so why choose to expedite that ending?

The only answer that feels right for us is to just sit back and wait for the guru to call.  Parenthood takes patience…if we can’t survive this, how will we handle the everyday challenges that will face us when we’re moms?  Please don’t get me wrong.  If I was climbing the walls 6 days ago, I’m suspended from the ceiling by my pinky toe tonight.  So this isn’t some newfound state of serenity.  It’s more resignation and a little bit of fear thrown in for good measure. 

The plan for getting through the next 12-24 hours is simple: Halloween candy.  After the trick or treaters came and went, there’s just enough candy left that I can get pregnant with a little snickers baby, but not enough that I can do any permanent damage.  Chocolate coma, here I come…

 

3 Responses to “To Test or Not to Test”

  1. Laura Says:

    Keeping my fingers crossed for you guys xx

    Like

  2. bess1999 Says:

    My wife and I just had our 3rd attempt too! Still have a few more days before we get the news. Wish you two the best!
    I’m blogging about our experience too. http://www.theterrellsjourney.wordpress.com
    Good Luck!

    Like

  3. April Says:

    Thinking of you.

    Stay positive. Keep the faith.

    I’m on day 19 of my cycle and still no ovulation. I go to the clinic every day before work. Sigh.

    Hang in there. It’s a long process. It will be successful. Just hang in there.

    http://aprilgigiangels.blogspot.com

    Like


Leave a Reply

