are you my moms?

the musings of yet another lesbian couple on the journey of mother(s)hood

Labor Day…Oh, the Irony September 2, 2011

Filed under: IUI,Two-week wait — areyoumymoms @ 10:53 am
Tags: , , , ,

This weekend MKL and I will join a few million other people and escape the city for Labor Day weekend.  I’m not sure there’s a holiday whose name I like less right now.  Maybe if there was such a thing as Peestick Day or You Might Be Pregnant Day, those would outrank it.  But as with everything else in my world, even the name of a delightful Monday off is enough to remind me of our current state of baby limbo.  I remember a commercial from my childhood about tootsie rolls (and yes, it’s a song cue): “Whatever it is I think I see becomes a tootsie roll to me!”  That’s totally me right now.  Last night we were watching Dance Moms (uh, if you’re not, start…it’s awful, addicting, and trashy fun!), and I realized that the next time a new episode airs, we’ll know if there’s a bun in my oven or if we’re back to the baker…so to speak.  I scheduled a work meeting yesterday for mid-December and wondered if I might be starting to show a bit.  I put on a pair of pants yesterday that are waaaay too big for me, but I refuse to give them up, as they’ll make for handy professional maternity wear.

Same goes for physical symptoms: a wave of nausea?  Pregnant.  Cold symptoms?  Knocked up.  Exhausted in the middle of the afternoon?  With child!  Headache?  You betcha…expecting.  Of course, it’s entirely possible that none of this is true.  Or maybe it is.  But it probably isn’t, so I shouldn’t get my hopes up.  But it might be, so why not let myself think it?  But no, it never happens on the first try, so I should just accept the next step.  AAAAAAHHHHH!!!!  It’s enough to make a girl crazy (eh…crazier than usual). 

Rather than buck the system and start a campaign to change the name of the holiday to something more generic like 1st Monday in September or Last Day Off ‘Til Thanksgiving, I’ll just change the definition in my head, and I will ask you all to do the same.  This year let all ttc couples, and those who support our efforts, rejoice in the idea that we might be in labor before the next time this holiday comes around.  Take the day to enjoy your family and visualize yourself at the end of this very long road.  After all, the real journey begins at this road’s end.

Happy Labor Day, everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

