are you my moms?

the musings of yet another lesbian couple on the journey of mother(s)hood

To Catch You Up… August 29, 2011

Filed under: Backstory — areyoumymoms @ 11:20 am
Tags: , , ,

Like most women who are trying to conceive via IUI or another method of ART, I have spent countless hours searching the blogosphere to find out what’s “normal.”  What I’ve learned is that there’s no such thing.  Since everyone’s reasons for using ART are different, and all our bodies are different, we all react differently to the physical and emotional effects of the ttc world.  I found myself identifying, in some small way, with just about everyone’s story.   Yet mine has barely begun.

In case you haven’t already read the “About Us” section, here’s a quick recap: wifey and I have been together over 9 years and have been ready to start a family for at least 7.  But as with everyone on this journey, life tends to get in the way of carefully laid plans.  So now we find ourselves on the IUI roller coaster in our mid-late 30’s.

We’re blessed with great friends who have been extremely supportive and would beg, borrow, or steal to make us parents (if you’re reading this, we might take you up on those offers eventually…).  When discussing my new ttc blog obsession with my BFF, she suggested I start one of my own – both as therapy for me and as a way to hopefully tell a new story.  My problem was that in all the stories I read, I hadn’t found a single one that extolled the joys of having IUI success the first time around.  Perhaps that’s because those ladies blessed enough to conceive in their first cycle are too busy decorating nurseries and measuring their growing bellies to keep up with a blog.  Maybe it’s because if it happens the first time, who needs to consult the virtual ttc community for comfort?  Or maybe it’s because it doesn’t happen very often (surely that’s not the case, right?).  I’m most likely jinxing our chances by even typing the next sentence, but I’ve noticed that the further I get in this process, my typical cynical nature is dissolving before my very eyes.  So here goes: I want to be the girl that starts telling her story before an attempt at conception fails.  (*Note, this theory could all go out the window in the next 10 days*)  And yes, I’m aware that several pairs of eyes just rolled, and many southern ladies just said “awwwww…bless her heart.”  But stick with me… 

As I write this initial post, I’m halfway into my dreaded two-week-wait.  We did femara-assisted, HCG-triggered, fingers-crossed inseminations on 8/21 and 8/22.  For those of you who are also on this journey, your internal calendar/calculator app has likely just realized I can’t do my pregnancy test two weeks after my 2nd insemination due to the most ironic holiday ever: Labor Day.  So instead of 15 days, I get to wait 16.  Great start, huh?  That’s not even the half of it.  If this works the first time (when!  when it works!!) it will truly be the product of a comedy of errors.  I had to take a business trip to Las Vegas when it was time to get my initial bloodwork done, so I gave my 12 vials in the desert between days of a trade show.  I was under some significant family stress in the weeks that followed, shortening my cycle by 10 days, and my doctor has never seen evidence that I ovulate naturally (though my body responded perfectly to the femara and HCG shot).  I’m 35 years old with very low AMH, and have never naturally made one of those effing digital OPK’s smile at me.   And while I’m quite healthy today, I’ve fought a life-long battle with weight, putting yet another barrier between us and an easy run.

So now you know a little about us.  I know all first-time bloggers say this, but I hope to post at least something each day (right…again, that’s probably not realistic but a girl’s gotta do something to keep herself occupied during these miserable two weeks!!).  Stay tuned for such fascinating topics as: “Progesteroni: San Francisco Treat or Bobby Brown Song?” “My Doctor, the Butter-Churner” and “I Just Inhaled and Exhaled – That Means I’m Pregnant, Right?”

 

One Response to “To Catch You Up…”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Loves this. Am so excited for the next 10 days to be over already. You’re welcome. Love you!

    Like


Leave a Reply

